Reading Round-Up

Continuing my 50 in 365 challenge:

#13 – Watermelon – Marian Keyes

As can be expected, I enjoyed this novel.  Keyes is definitely a favorite author of mine, and this book did not disappoint.  This is the first of the books about the Walsh sisters.  Claire's husband leaves her right after she gives birth to their child.  She moves home with her family and learns to cope.  I think Rachel's Holiday and Anybody Out There were much better and more moving novels than this one, but they were two of my favorite novels ever so not living up to them doesn't mean this isn't a good book.  I would recommend it to anyone who wants a light read that isn't as mindless as a lot of the chick lit flooding the market right now. 

#14 – Flying Too High – Kerry Greenwood

Phryne Fisher has established herself as a sleuth and is on the scent again with a hotheaded patriarch being murdered and his son accused of the crime.  The second installment of the Phryne Fisher mystery series is just as fun as the first, and getting to know the cast of secondary characters is almost as fun as reading about the fabulous flapper life of Phryne.  I love the two communist cab drivers that complain about all the capitalists while Phryne pays them to do her bidding.

#15 – The Other Boleyn Girl – Philippa Gregory

This is the story of the rise and fall of Anne Boleyn from the point of view of her sister, Mary.  I couldn't put this book down, and I found myself thinking about it at work wishing I could sneak away and read just one more chapter.  Gregory did painstaking research to get the historical framework of the novel right, and then expertly added the feelings and motivations for the characters' actions.  I escaped into another time, when women were chattel to be set out for their family's bidding.  It was really interesting to see the monster that Anne Boleyn created become the instrument of her downfall.  I want to read The Constant Princess soon because I'd like to read more about Katherine of Aragon than the few years that she happened to be in Anne Boleyn's way.  She has always interested me.  I also think I'll pick up some nonfiction about the wives of Henry VIII because it is hard to separate fact from fiction in the stories we hear about the Tudor dynasty.

The Other Boleyn Girl

Flying Too High (Phryne Fisher Mysteries)

Watermelon

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “Reading Round-Up

  1. For an excellent background and insight into all of Henry VIII's wives, I recommend "The Wives of Henry VIII" by Antonia Fraser. A nice thick book that you can completely lose yourself in.
    I have always stayed away from historical fiction, but I hear so many good things about "The Other Boleyn Girl" that I think it's about time for a change!

  2. Thank you for the recommendation! That's exactly the kind of book I'm looking for. I have been wary of historical fiction in the past as well because I equated it with bodice-ripping romance novels, which I don't have an interest in. I read this on the suggestion of several trusted friends, and I'm glad I did. I do wish there was more selection when it comes to "good" historical fiction though. There are only so many books you can read about the Tudors before you're ready for a good tale of the French or Spanish courts. Although my favorite historical fiction tends to be Asian since their history is so different from Europe's.

  3. I recommend Antonia Fraser's book too. It was surprisingly engrossing! I'm gonna look out for The Other Boleyn Girl now… funnily enough I hadn't even heard of it yet! And now I'm very curious!

  4. foxsydee – I have seen the poster for the movie. It should be interesting to see Natalie Portman as Anne. She always seems to be the good girl in movies so it will be cool to see her as the conniving Anne Boleyn. After reading the book, I think Johansson was definitely a good pick for Gregory's portrayal of Mary.Lightchaser and Aubrey – I requested Fraser's book from the library, and I should have it in hand in the next day or so since it's already in transit. I really look forward to reading it now!

  5. I went and saw Marian Keyes read a few years ago and she was so adorable that I just wanted to fold her up and put her in my pocket so I could take her to parties. I do love her books!

Leave a Reply

