I got me a college degree!1!!

I just got this in an email from our event manager at the hotel we're getting married in.

"Hope your doing well, Here is an updated rooming list!!"


She has a diploma from the university I graduated
from hanging on her office wall.  Shouldn't she know the difference
between you're and your?
  Shouldn't she know that there are two complete sentences there?  That calls for a period, not a comma.  Also, she is emailing me in a professional capacity so the two exclamation points are a little too much.  Could I have graduated just fine without proofreading any of my papers?  Gah!

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

16 thoughts on “I got me a college degree!1!!

  1. I hate how our language is being destroyed by texting, emailing, faxing. . . . What ever happened to eloquence? If we don't expect it from our president I suppose we shouldn't expect it from anyone.

  2. I mean ain't that like some badder grammar.
    That stuff drives me nuts — you shouldn't need a little green line in MS-Word to suggest that you might have written your sentence incorrectly. Sheesh!

  3. A woman after my own heart. I agree! Fun and mis grammar is O K on here and in friendly emails, but I draw the line when it comes to sending professional correspondence.

  4. *snort*!(notice – only one exclamation mark!)And I am right there with you on the hating the bad grammar. I try not to let it annoy me a lot, but it gets the better of me most times.

  5. I knew I'd find like minds here. In casual writing, like Vox and personal emails, I'm not nearly as judgmental about grammar because I know people don't proofread every little thing they type. But in professional correspondence, I think a bit of extra effort to clean up the grammar is in order. I'm certainly not perfect, but when I send people emails at work, I always read over them once or twice before clicking send. Of course, my mom is a retired English teacher so I proofread my emails to her as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Well, I do think it's a bit harsh. ๐Ÿ™‚ Unfortunately, I only have come to that sort of conclusion over the past 10 years or so. We shouldn't be so quick to judge another's abilities to perform in a professional capacity. Some of the most intelligent people I work with (and live with, like my son) have the worst grammar and spelling of all. Yet they are the most effective. But that's just my opinion. On a similar note, how about the practice of PowerPoint and forcing people to think in bulleted lists. They have PP in the schools nowadays and are forcing kids to think in threes, and in short sentences. I think it limits the creative, conceptual process and will stunt our kid's minds and our minds even more. So then you'll not only have poor grammar to drive you crazy, but incomplete, stunted thinking as well. (I apologize for any missing or extra commas, inappropriate exclamation points, etc.)

  7. bad grammar = harshness; therefore, grammar = harshness – bad; therefore; grammar = gentleness (the opposite of harshness according to webster's 6.7); therefore we are not being harsh, only promoting gentleness.

  8. We shouldn't be so quick to judge another's abilities to perform in a professional capacity. I wasn't judging her professional abilities. She is quite adept at her job as event manager. The harshness of the post is mostly because she is irritating the crap out of us to cut down on the rooms we have blocked, even though we've told her several times that we know people who have not made reservations that are definitely coming. They will wait until the last minute (9/27) because they are slackers, but we will not drop the rooms until then because our contract states that we get the rooms until that deadline. This is one of many emails we've gotten from her reminding us that our room block isn't full, all with lots of exclamation points and smiley faces to make it seem like she's being friendly when she is actually trying to get us to help her company make more money.This post was a much more pleasant alternative to going Bridezilla on her.

  9. Bad grammar may not equate to professional abilities. But bad grammar definitely gives the wrong impression. Especially for someone who communicate with clients every day it is inexcusable to have bad grammar. But that's just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

