Seneca Falls Inheritance

Seneca Falls Inheritance

Miriam Grace Monfredo

Seneca Falls Inheritance is the first in a series of mysteries with librarian sleuth, Glynis Tryon.  Seneca Falls was the home of the first Women's Rights Convention in 1848.  The story takes place during this year.  This novel combines the history of the time and a mystery quite deftly.  I learned a lot about the beginnings of the Women's Suffrage Movement from this mystery, and I look forward to reading other books in this series. 

I really enjoyed the fact that Monfredo used actual historical figures in the story to set the stage for the time period.  They only had cameos, but it was interesting to read about them.  I was not aware before reading this book that Frederick Douglass took such an active role in the fight for the vote for women.  Also, many of the women who were active in the Women's Suffrage Movement were previously active alongside their husbands in the Abolitionist Movement.

I'd suggest this novel to fans of historical fiction or cozy mysteries.

#7 of 50 in 365

Currently reading:

Read and post comments


Send to a friend


One thought on “Seneca Falls Inheritance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s