Superbad

We went to see Superbad last night, and it was pretty funny.  Parts of it were hilarious.  I prefer Knocked Up to this one, but I think this one is meant for high school and college students.  A lot of the humor is really juvenile, so much so that I didn't think it was funny.  If the other people in the theater (all a bit younger than me) are any indication, those parts are hilarious to some people. 

It's a shame that they left newcomer Christopher Mintz-Plasse (McLovin) off the movie poster because he really stole the show.  "Chicka Chicka , yeah."

I suggest seeing this one on DVD or in a second run theater if you aren't sure if you'll enjoy a lot of juvenile humor.  Knocked Up was the summer comedy for adults, this one is for teens.

Oh yeah, I forgot about this funny story.  There was a dad sitting in the front row with his son (about 12 years old), and they got up an left after ten minutes.  Don't go with your kids to see this one.  It would be an embarrassing time for all.  And your 12 year old is probably too young for this one with or without you there.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “Superbad

  1. The commercials are deceiving. It looks like it's on par with Blades of Glory in terms of juvenile humor. I think it's rated R but I didn't notice the rating because my overall impression was that it was just harmless juvenile humor. I almost took my son (13) and then we just never got around to it. Then my ex… the incredibly irresponsible intellectually-challenged one, actually apologized because he took my kid to see it and told me it was WAY out of line. He said that they didn't leave because he unsure how bad it was going to get, but that it was an uncomfortable couple of hours. For my ex to say that… that's saying something. (I would have just left, and let my kid hate me for the afternoon, but oh well.)

  2. I agree with this whole-heartedly. I thought it was funny but all of the reviews were right when they said this was not written by the same writer as Knocked Up & 40 Year Old Virgin – but by two 13 year olds. I enjoyed a lot of the humor but in a oh-I'm-so-glad-I-was-never-a-teenage-boy kind of way. I'm confused as to why any parent takes their kid to a rated-R flick – no matter how harmless it seems. It's rated-R for a reason… I was shocked when I went into Grindhouse (gruesome horror double feature) and saw more than one child there. But some people think less-conservatively than I do.

  3. “Superbad” is one of the funniest and best buddy/coming-of-age comedies I’ve seen in a long, long time. The Jonah Hill/Michael Cera pairing is pure genius because their comedy styles, although totally different, work swimmingly together. Don’t even get me started on Mintz-Plasse as McLovin, the wannabe Irish R&B singer. B-E-A-Utiful.

Leave a Reply

