Snobs.

Some of the people quoted in this article about audiobooks need to get their noses out of the air.

Dain Frisby-Dart, 40, an avid audio book listener from Trempealeau,
Wis., told her book group a few years ago that she was listening to the
current selection. One of the members, a man in his 70s, reacted as if
she had been reading CliffsNotes.

“He said, ‘It doesn’t count
if you listened to it. That’s cheating,’ ” Ms. Frisby-Dart said. “I was
so floored by the comment that I just kind of laughed it off.”

The sad thing about that woman is that she stopped listening to audiobooks after that meeting.   I'll be damned if I would, and if no one in the group stood up for me against that man, I would leave the damn group altogether.

This one made me laugh.  It's better to not finish a book than to listen to it?  How exactly are you better prepared than someone who listened to the whole thing?

“I said that I felt like listening to a book was a copout,” Ms.
Altman said. “I’m not like a hardcore book group person — a lot of
times I don’t even finish the book. But my point was that she is a
librarian and I thought it was pretty ridiculous. I’m a painter and it
would be like me painting by numbers.”

I have to say I am generally turned off by people that are snobbish about anything.  I guess it's a good thing I'm a public librarian because the woman above is a teacher, and I couldn't deal with her as a school librarian.  Does she think that librarians have time to sit down and read every book that's published?  If she'd get her head out of her ass, she could listen to books while she painted.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “Snobs.

  1. Go get a life, folks.It's the words that matter.So, do they mean that my sister — once an avid book reader — doesn't count now that she has to do books on tape, having become blind?She still goes through mountains of books.Steam, steam, steam….If you must feel snobby about something, people, go find something real, because this just makes you look really, really, stupid.

  2. I read this article today and it really pissed me off because I listen to a lot of audio books. I think there was a psychologist quoted who said that the cognitive experience of listening and reading were very similar. And in the past, I think reading aloud was probably a major source of entertainment. Jane Austen and George Eliot probably read aloud to their friends and families. How is this different…. well, I can think of a couple of ways… but still!

  3. Snobs be quieted! Sheesh! I have both read and listened to the same books, a few times now, and I can tell you that sometimes audio books are more enjoyable. It’s like being told a story, which, I think, is really the way stories were meant to be communicated. For me, it adds a sense of closeness and personalization to the story. (Non-fiction audio has yet to do it for me.)
    As for the critiques of the member(s) of the book club, I'd have to agree, dump 'em. Aren’t clubs supposed to be about fun? Being insulted for a choice doesn't sound fun (or like an intellectual exchange, for that matter).

  4. That's so silly! What a thing to be snobbish about. I don't listen to audiobooks because I have real trouble concentrating on what's being said, for some reason (that doesn't say anything about my regular communication skills, though, I insist) and so fare much better with a good ol' book. But they're such a convenient method of enjoying literature for many.

Leave a Reply

