My fancy schmancy new machine.

I decided on this machine, the Kenmore 19233.  These machines were made for Sears by Janome apparently, and they get rave reviews at sewing.patternreview.com and elsewhere.  It was on sale, and I got a service plan for 3 years.  It came with a cheesy instructional DVD with 80's elevator music in the background.  It was very helpful to watch though.  Seeing someone thread the machine is easier to understand than looking at a diagram in a manual.  The parts are much more sturdy than the "plasticy" Brother, and it just feels more solid in general.  Close-ups are on my Flickr page here.

Here's a picture of Maddie reminding me to read the manual and watch the DVD before playing with the machine:

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “My fancy schmancy new machine.

  1. Congrats on your new machine! My mother-in-law has promised me a hand-me-down. Apparently it's also a Kenmore, but old, so if it's too trashed, I'm going to have to find a new one. Very exciting either way… I haven't had my own sewing machine before, and I have a lot of plans.

  2. Stacy – You should get yours out of the closet. I'm having so much fun playing with mine.Janette – I'm sure yours will work well, and if it doesn't, you can take it to a Sears for a tune-up since it's a Kenmore. I wouldn't think that would be too pricey. Show pictures when you start using it of the stuff that you make!

Leave a Reply

