Back from the Evil Empire

I just got home from Wal-Mart, a store that I try my best to stay away from.  Unfortunately, they are one of three stores (AC Moore and Michael's are the others) in this area that carry Caron Simply Soft yarn, which is the yarn I'm using for my granny square afghan.  Dan came with me and laughed at my frustration that I "have" to shop there for yarn now.  First of all, they had a better color selection than both of the aforementioned craft stores in my yarn of choice.  They also sell it for 50 cents cheaper than either of the other stores.

I walked out of the store with a bag of yarn in one hand while shaking the other fist and exclaiming, "Damn these low low prices!"

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “Back from the Evil Empire

  1. I hear you but I still don't shop there — knowing/ seen the selection. Walmart has been single-handedly responsible (IMO) for shutting down almost every small town business for…miles — in the past 20 years. The only places that survived are a couple of tractor-work places and ladies hair "salons" that are both (tractor and hair) run out of peoples' homes (no over-head). When you see an entire regional way of life destroyed…I just bite the bullet and get my yarn at Michael's. : (

  2. rogue – Thanks. šŸ™‚ All I can think of is that book Nickel and Dimed when I'm in Wal-Mart.Gunderson
    Bee – Same here. The one I went to is about 5 minutes from a Super
    Wal-Mart. Although Starbucks has them beat. We have one shopping
    center here with three of them within walking distance of each other.lauowolf
    – I promise not to shop there for anything else! šŸ™‚ I'll post pics of
    the afghan in progress. Only 6 squares done so I've got lots more to
    do for the size afghan I want.mad-tante – Yeah, that's why I
    don't shop there. If the yarn was just cheaper than Michael's, I
    wouldn't shop at Wal-Mart, but they had colors I really wanted for my
    afghan that neither of the other stores had. I was really disappointed
    in the selection of colors at the craft stores. You'd think they would
    carry a wider range than just the pastels. Babies aren't the only ones
    who like soft blankies! If I could afford it, I would buy all of my
    yarn at small yarn shops in the area, but at $6 a skein, that's not an
    option for me right now.

  3. I hear you on this. I do my best never to shop there but got stuck a couple months ago because I needed something at 9:00 on a Sunday and everyone else was closed. So frustating. Are there Hobby Lobbys near you? The bigger ones don't have a bad yarn selection.

  4. I hate how cheap Wal-Mart is too, and also their locations! They are always closer than the craft stores. Plus, at the craft stores I always get stuck behind that once woman who is determined to make a million wreaths and has an entire cart full of flowers – and each one needs to be scanned because none are the same! Then they don't open up any other cashiers and I just get SO frustrated!

  5. I feel your pain on having to shop there. I try to avoid that place as much as possible considering the way they treat their employees, but on occasion they just have that price that you can't beat. Like they had dvd holders for 2.00 while Target's were 20 bucks. Not just a little difference, a huge one.

Leave a Reply

