Granny would be proud.

Well, I actually called her Grandma, but granny seems more appropriate because I crocheted my first granny square yesterday!  I used this pattern.  The questions below are meant for the Crochet group in case you're wondering why I'm asking random crochet questions on my blog.  šŸ™‚

My first granny square!Granny Square

According to the book pictured on the left, I was supposed to cut the yarn 6 inches from the end of the square and fasten off.  What do you do with the resulting tail?  Weave it in somewhere?  I'm asking because I plan to do an afghan so I will need to attach them to each other and obviously don't want a bunch of strings hanging from each square. 

I also tried this new stitch shown below.  I really like it.  It's funky, and I'm making a camera case out of it.  The bulkiness of the stitch does kind of take away from the ultracompact nature of the camera so I might make another one later with a smaller stitch.  Does anyone have suggestions for how to do a little button loop on the top when I'm ready to finish it?  Do I just do a few chain stitches in a loop, or will that not work for some reason?  I was going to just to a final row of sc and in the middle of the row do a loop of chain stitches for the button.  Thanks for any help you can give me!  I know these are probably stupid questions, but I'm a relative newbie to crochet.

Crochet Honeycomb StitchCrochet Stitch - Macro Shot

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “Granny would be proud.

  1. I think the stitch you used for your camera case will work well for cushioning the camera! I operated on an old keyboard and pulled out this rubbery plastic sheet with raised boxes on it. Then once, when I had to pack my camera away and couldn't find the case I used that sheet of rubbery boxes and it worked like a dream!

  2. I love that granny square pattern! It's the first I did when I learned how to crochet. I couldn't master any of the fancy stiches or crochet anything that wasn't in a square/circle 'cause it always ended tapering off at the top into a triangle since I'd lose stitches. I find knitting to be a whole lot easier.

  3. to answer your questions, yes you can just crochet a chain for a button loop. i find it helps to switch toa smaller hook, so the chain is a little bit tighter. and your string can be useful for joining the squares or you can just weave it into the square until it dissappears. everything looks great!

Leave a Reply

