Chicks Rule!

I'm referring to the Dixie Chicks.  They won all five Grammy Awards they were nominated for this year.  As a resident of the South, I know that there are many people who loved this band that no longer listen to their music due to the comment that Natalie Maines made at a concert about being ashamed that GWB is from Texas.  Not only did these people stop listening to the Chicks, they also sent threat letters and held mass bonfires of their albums.  These people are the reason that I was not able to attend one of the shows on their most recent tour.  They didn't sell enough tickets to actually hold a concert in North Carolina, and I can't afford to travel to see them right now.

Needless to say, their awards feel like sweet vindication to me.  I love their music, and I love the fact that they stood up for themselves on their most recent album with the track "Not Ready to Make Nice." 

How in the world can the words that I said send somebody so over the edge that they'd write me letter saying that I better shut up and sing or my life will be over?

Here's the video from YouTube:

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Chicks Rule!

  1. I like some of their music, but I have a feeling that some of those Grammys were more a vote of support for their perseverance after Nat dropped "the bomb", rather than the actual music. Which I'm okay with. I'm glad they won. 🙂

Leave a Reply

