My life of crime…

I had to go to court this week, and I was so nervous about it all Sunday night. 

A little back-story for you…  I'm driving to work, and I see the blue lights behind me.  I pull over and assume that I'm about to get a speeding ticket (because I think I may have been speeding at some point since I saw the cop car pull onto the road).

It turns out, I'm a dumb-ass who forgot to renew her registration.  Doh!  I felt like an idiot, but at least the officer was nice and told me that they would forgive it if I went to the courthouse on the date on the ticket.

Of course I was picturing a situation where I would go into an office with a judge or something like that to teach me a lesson for being so lawless.  It turns out you just wait in line for the DA, and she either sends you to the cashier to pay your citation or forgives the ticket and sends you on your way.  Luckily, I was sent on my way free of charge.  There was a separate line for people with offenses that required pleading.  That would have been embarrassing because the guy basically yells out your charge and your rights and asks how you plead.  There were a lot of people waiting in line staring at those people. 

I was prepared to say (in my best Southern Belle accent), "I throw myself at the mercy of the court!  Please forgive me for this heinous crime!"  All the while fanning myself with a folding paper fan and batting my eyes.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

5 thoughts on “My life of crime…

  1. Hey! The same thing happened to me! Except I forgot for a few months so I was reeeeeeeaaaalllly late on renewing my registration. But it's nice to feel like a lawless rebel, even if it's only for a little while. 🙂

  2. Yup, I was three months late on mine. I don't remember ever getting the renewal in the mail, but I'm sure I just lost it somehow without ever opening it. I kept wondering why I hadn't gotten my property tax bill for 2006 yet. Oops! I'll remember from now on!

Leave a Reply

