QotD: Books From My Childhood

What books did you love as a child? 
Submitted by hearts

The Cat in the Hat

Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings

Cars and Trucks and Things That Go (Giant Little Golden Book)

Ramona Quimby, Age 8

Jacob Have I Loved

  • All Dr. Seuss books, especially The Cat in the Hat.
  • Shel Silverstein – Where the Sidewalk Ends
  • All of Richard Scarry's Busytown books – I loved looking for the gold bug.
  • As I've mentioned before, Beverly Cleary's Ramona series is the reason I love to read today.
  • I read Jacob Have I Loved in a few hours one afternoon.
  • I also loved the Berenstein Bears books, but there were no pictures with those on amazon.

Now, for the books I loved as a young adult:

The Clue in the Diary (Nancy Drew Mystery Stories Number 7)

The Betrayal (The Fear Street Saga 1)

Kristy's Great Idea (The Baby-Sitter's Club #1)

Double Love (Sweet Valley High)

  • R.L. Stine – I really liked all of the Fear Street books, but I especially loved the Fear Street Saga that is about these women who are witches during the time of the Salem Witch Trials.  I just found out when looking for the book on Amazon.com that there are three more of these out since I was reading them.  I am SO going to read those ASAP.  It's, uh, research for Library School…
  • I loved the Babysitter's Club series, especially the one Super Special where they get snowed in.  It actually might be called Snowed In, but I'm too lazy to find it right now.
  • Oh, Jessica and Elizabeth, I spent many afternoons with you, thinking that life in California must be perfect.  I don't know many girls who didn't read these.  I actually made a family of two sisters in The Sims 2 recently and named them Jessica and Elizabeth Wakefield.  I am SUCH a dork.  There was a Sweet Valley Saga series that I really enjoyed.  One about the histories of each side of their family.
  • Nancy Drew books were awesome.  I wanted to be her so badly.  She was perfect in every way.  One of these took place in a rock quarry, and I now equate quarries with murder.  I know I'm strange.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

5 thoughts on “QotD: Books From My Childhood

  1. The revelation that you created a Sims family out of childhood book characters cracks me up — that is so something I would do! I never read SVS but I can relate…Just seeing the cover of the Where the Sidewalk Ends brings back sweet memories of my great, great aunt who would always buy me books — and who is responsible for my Shel Silverstein collection.

  2. What's really bad is that I didn't just name the sisters after the characters, I actually gave them the character traits of the girls in the books and created a back-story for them based on that… I'll have to get a screen capture of them at some point to exhibit my sheer dorkiness to the vox community.

  3. I've read that Fear Street series – I remember really liking that! My friend was really into Fear Street while I was really into Christopher Pike. I've got everyone of his books – aside from the ones he co-authored. I'm a big fan. Have you ever read L.J Smith? Ah, the blessedness of getting enjoyment out of Young Adult books still 🙂
    I never read Baby-Sitter’s Club – but I did read the Baby-Sitters Little Sister Series and I loved those. I remember once my mom came in my room at about two o'clock in the morning and she at first was really pleased that I was reading and then it seemed to hit her – "What are you doing?! It's a school night! Put down that book and get some sleep!" Fond memories… Fond 🙂

Leave a Reply

