Why I Adore Emma Thompson

From a Q&A in the 11/13/06 edition of Newsweek.

Newsweek:  Do you get upset when you see all these skinny young actresses?

Emma:  I can't bear it.  When I come to L.A. next week I'm planning to wear very tight dresses that emphasize my behind enormously and sashay around, wiggling my large bottom, saying, "This is normal and what it should be like."

She always seems so real in every interview that I've seen her do.  She doesn't say that she's happy with her body and then go out and get plastic surgery.  She's one of the most beautiful and talented actresses out there right now, and she's not afraid to gain a pound or two.

I think I truly became a fan of her when I first saw her scene in Love Actually (*spoiler ahead*) when her character finds out that the necklace her husband – played by Alan Rickman – bought was not for her.  She really captured the feeling of the scene when she went back into the bedroom and composed herself for her children.  I cry every time I watch that movie, especially during that scene.

I really can't wait to see Stranger Than Fiction.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “Why I Adore Emma Thompson

  1. Love, Actually is probably one of the greatest movies ever made, and I'm still completely convinced that Emma Thompson should have gotten a best supporting actress Oscar for that heart-breaking scene after the necklace incident.
    I know what I'm watching tonight.

  2. I agree. Love, Actually is one of the only romantic comedies that gets love right, if that makes any sense. Love doesn't always work out the way you want it to, but that means that when it does, it's really special. Another one that I love is When Harry Met Sally, which is also more realistic than others. That's not to say that I don't love cheesy predictable romantic comedies… :)I've watched Love, Actually so many times that my fiance rolls his eyes if he sees me putting it in the DVD player.

  3. I think the best scene in the whole movie, or at least my favorite, is when the guy goes to Keira Knightley's house with the posterboards and the cd player. It's absolutely amazing.
    And I completely agree, it is one of the very few that gets it right. I think My Best Friend's Wedding might be another one.

  4. Oh yeah, I love that scene. It's my favorite too. There's nothing like unrequited love. The scene where she watches his video of the wedding is heartbreaking. I love My Best Friend's Wedding too. I have that on VHS so I haven't watched it in ages. I need to start getting all of those good romantic comedies in DVD format that I only have on video. I don't think we even have a VCR anymore.

  5. First of all, I must go watch to movie again tonight. I LOVE Ms. Thompson! She makes every movie that she is in. She is subtle to perfection. I think I will need to watch Nanny McPhee tomorrow to compensate for the fact that I can't see Stranger Than Fiction until at least next week!*Jen*

Leave a Reply

