Buy this album!

I just purchased this album on iTunes:

I have unfortunately been oblivious to the existence of this talented man until today when I was looking around iTunes trying to spend the rest of my birthday gift card from my brother

His voice is smooth as silk, and his lyrics are soulful and moving.  His voice reminds me of Otis Redding.  I've listened to the song, "Southern Girl," a few times in a row already.

I ended up buying both of his albums, and I'll probably go back and buy his Live at KCRW recording as well.  Damn those stupid protected files!  I wish I could post his song, "Freedom," here for you to listen to.  Here's the iTunes link for a preview.

Here are the lyrics (it's the only political song on the album):

"Freedom"



Don't wanna be a martyr in this war


Don't wanna hear the same excuses anymore


That everything's a threat


And it's only gonna get worse if we let it




Don't wanna blame the rich for what they got


Don't point a finger at the poor for what they have not


Though the politician and the priest


Live in the belly of the beast because we fed it




Freedom is seldom found


By beating someone to the ground


Telling them how everything is gonna be now, yeah




Now if the tables were turned tell me how you would feel


Somebody busted up into your house telling you to stay still


While the leaders will deny defeat


Innocents they testify by dying in the street




Freedom is seldom found


By beating someone to the ground


Telling them how everything is gonna be now




Freedom is seldom found


By beating someone to the ground


Telling them how everything is gonna be now

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

