July Reads

In July, I finally started to get my reading mojo back. I’m still not tearing through books at the same pace as I did before the baby, but audiobooks have helped me get back into the swing of things. Bossypants and Anna and the French Kiss were both welcome diversions while washing bottles and pump parts every night.

With the help of Dan’s Kindle Fire (which I have commandeered for the foreseeable future) I am now reading while I nurse at night since it syncs through Amazon’s Whispernet with my Kindle Touch. For this reason, I’m sticking to ebooks since I can read them in the dark and with one hand. The Summer We Read Gatsby was a nice light fluffy read that helped me feel like I could finish books again. It was a bit of a nothing of a book though as there wasn’t much substance. 44 Scotland Street was reminiscent of the Tales of the City series by Armistead Maupin and just as fun to read. I loved McCall Smith’s characters, especially young Bertie. My favorite read in July was The Absolutist by John Boyne, although it was a tough book to read emotionally. (I received a free review copy from NetGalley.)

I’ve just started reading The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian, and I’m listening to two audiobooks – Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani and Quiet: the Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. We shall see what August brings! What are you reading?

2 thoughts on “July Reads

  1. I need to add Quiet to my queue–the author was on a recent episode of Books on the Nightstand’s podcast (actually, she was at one of their events and they recorded her presentation for the podcast). Sounds interesting!

    I’m glad your mojo is back :)

  2. I love audio books! Recently listened to Ian McEwan’s On Chesil Beach which was read by the author. This was followed by Anna Karenina (disappointing as I found the accent of the reader a bit jarring and had a huge issue with the way she pronounced ‘Kitty’) and some David Sedaris short stories (enjoying these but rationing them out as a little David Sedaris goes a long way). It is a nice way of escaping the Olympics coverage on my favourite radio station.

Leave a Reply

